Français      Home Page      IGU_Home Initiatives      Mediterranean Renaissance

   


THE MEDITERRANEAN RENAISSANCE
An IGU programme for the Mediterranean Human Development
by Adalberto Vallega
IGU President - Président de l'UGI



Why
In its 2004-2008 term , the IGU will focus on the Mediterranean region from many respects, particularly in a view to contribute to the scientific preparation of the 2008 International Geographical Congress, which will be held in Tunis.

What
The Mediterranean Renaissance Programme (MRP ) is meant as a container of initiatives that, from the geographical perspective, may improve the understanding of the Mediterranean cultural, economic and ecological contexts, in a view of contributing to the human development of the region.

How
  • To collaborate with the MRP, please contact the co-ordinator, Adalberto Vallega a.vallega@iol.it
  • To bring oneself up to date on the MRP implementation, please go to
    http://www.igu-net.org


  • The MRP Steering Committee was established in March 2005. It includes:

    Adalberto Vallega, Chair
    a.vallega@iol.it

    Ronald F. Abler, IGU Secretary General and Treasurer
    rabler@aag.org

    Antoine Bailly, Chair of IGU Commission on Applied Geography
    antoine.bailly@geo.unige.ch

    Giuliano Bellezza, Director of Home of Geography
    g.bellezza@homeofgeography.org

    Aharon Kellerman, Chair of IGU Commission on Information Society
    akeller@univ.haifa.ac.il

    Maria Sala, Co-ordinator of the Mediterranean Netywork
    sala@trivium.gh.ub.es

    André-Louis Sanguin, Chair of IGU Commission on Political Geography
    alsanguin@wanadoo.fr

    Alì Toumi, General Secretary of Association des Géographes Tunisiens, and General Secretary of the Comité National d'Organisation de Congrès 2008
    alitoumi2003@yahoo.fr

    Secretary
    The role of Secretary of the MRP Steering Committee was assumed by:
    Maria Paradiso, Executive Secretary of the IGU Commission on Information Society
    paradiso@unisannio.it


    Important notice: in December 2005 the functions of Co-ordinator of the Steering Committee was assumed by Professor Mahmoud Ashour, Chair of the IGU Commission on Arid Lands, Humankind, and Environment.
    These are his relevant co-ordinates:
    Ain Shams University, Department of Geography, Cairo, Egypt
    Vox: '+20 2 410 1752 - Fax: +20 2 685 4079
    e-mail: mmashour_99@yahoo.com
    Geographical bodies and geographers that are involved in, or interested in participating in, this programme are cordially invited to keep in touch with Professor Ashour.

    (To see the complete program of the Project and the last integration, click on:
    Mediterrenean Renaissance Implementation # 1